Posted in poetry

I Can’t Breathe

Some days
I feel like the
Walls
Are all
Closing in
Around me.
I gasp
For air
But my
Chest clenches,
Like there
Is a heavy
Box
Of sorrow
And pain
Weighing me down.
My lungs
Are empty
Far, far emptier
Than they’re supposed
To be,
But my heart
Feels full
Too full
Like there is something
Fighting to
Come out.
My eyes burn
Like fire
And my lashes
Carry pools
Of tears
Threatening to
Spill over
In never-ending
Streams
Of earth-splitting
Grief.
I yearn
To break free
Of the broken
House
I call
‘Myself’.
I yearn
To float through
The walls
Trapping me in
And learn
How to
Fly.
I yearn
To gulp in a
Lungful
Of cool, free air
And believe
That I
Can be
Saved.
But I can’t.
I can’t save myself
From this
cage you call life.
I can’t open
My eyes
Yet
I can’t close
Them either.
I’m stuck
Somewhere
In between
Lost
And, alone.
And
I
Just
Can’t
Breathe.

superthumb

Leave a comment